Center journalists to be honored at White House Correspondents’ dinner



Center for Public Integrity reporters Jim Morris, Chris Hamby and Ronnie Greene will receive a prestigious White House Correspondents’ Association award Saturday night for a series of reports exposing workplace and environmental hazards afflicting blue collar workers nationwide.

Their series, Hard Labor, revealed how corporate irresponsibility and lax regulation contribute to thousands of worker deaths, injuries and illnesses in America each year. The series won the WHCA’s Edgar A. Poe Award for “excellence in news coverage of subjects and events of significant national or regional importance to the American people.”

The reporters will be honored at the black tie White House Correspondents' Association dinner Saturday evening. President Obama will be among the attendees.

Other winners in 2013 are Ryan Lizza of the New Yorker for “journalistic excellence in covering the presidency,” and Julie Pace of the Associated Press and Terry Moran of ABC for White House news coverage.

Care about freedom of the press? Support independent investigative journalism.

Donate now
Donate now